Connect with us

New York

Monroe County Legislature swears in new members



Monroe County, New York – On Monday evening, new members of the Monroe County Legislature were sworn in.

A total of 29 new members were added to the legislature.

For the first time in 30 years, Democrats held a one-seat majority, until Monday.

According to Democrat Sabrina Lamar, she was joining the republican caucus, while remaining a Democrat.

Lamar was also elected legislature president. She is the first black woman in history to hold this position.