Connect with us

New York

Wayne County declares state of emergency



Wayne County, New York — As COVID-19 transmission rates continued their steady rise in the region, Wayne County declared a state of emergency Monday.

At 1:00 p.m. on December 6, the state of emergency went into effect and lasts 30 days unless it is rescinded.

“This situation continues to evolve and the threat of this virus is imminent to the citizens and visitors of Wayne County,” the state of emergency notice reads. “It is necessary that Wayne County continue to be proactive and fully prepared to deal with its effects.”

There were 768 active cases of COVID-19 in Wayne County as of December 3, according to the declaration.

There have been 89 deaths related to COVID-19 in Wayne County.

The emergency declaration comes “out of an abundance of caution” and does not carry with it any additional emergency orders.

Residents and visitors are encouraged to wear masks whenever possible. Employees and visitors at county buildings will be required to check temperatures upon entry and wear masks in common areas.

Monroe County declared a state of emergency on November 30. Wyoming County declared a state of emergency on December 1.